World Alzheimer’s Day

This Sunday, September 21, 2008, is World Alzheimer’s Day. It is a day to remember the 26.6 million people worldwide who have this vile disease that will eventually rob them of the ability to remember and to reason. It will take from them every skill they ever learned and every relationship they ever held dear. And for most, they will watch this thief at work in their own minds.

I have created a Virtual Quilt Patch to honor and remember my mother on this day. I have watched her fight this disease for seven years. I have tried to fight it with her, but we are losing.

I am asking you to make a Virtual Quilt Patch today because we need a cure. It is too late for my mother, but others are just starting this long good-bye. 

If you know someone who has/had Alzheimer’s please create a patch for them on this day to remember. If you don’t know anyone with this disease, you know my mom. Use her name. Make a patch.

If you have a web site or a blog put a Virtual Quilt Patch there in time for September 21st. Share how Alzheimer’s has touched your life. People need to know. Link to the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative at www.AlzQuilts.org

If you don’t have a web site or blog, create a patch and copy and paste it into an email. Send the email to your friends and family. Ask them to visit the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative. Instructions and more information are here.

If you read other blogs and visit other web pages, quilt-related or not, tell them about it. If you get my blog in your email, forward it to your friends.

My goal is to have Virtual Quilt Patches popping up all over the Internet by Sunday. Can you help me? Comment to this post and tell me where you put your Virtual Quilt Patch and how many people you told.

World Alzheimer’s Day
September 21, 2008
So that future generations may never know this disease.

Thank you,
Ami Simms
Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative

Get my blog delivered to you via email, or read it online.

9 thoughts on “World Alzheimer’s Day

  1. I created a patch and posted it in an online quilting forum, along with the message that Sunday is Alzheimer’s Day, AND the link to AAQI.

    Like

  2. I have created a patch for my husband, John and am emailing it to all my friends. I am also walking in the Greater NJ Memory Walk on 9/27. I raised $1,000 last year and hope to top that this year. We have to find a cure for this thing!!!!!

    Like

  3. 2 patches are on my new blog (for my late Mum and an Uncle currently fading), with links to The Initiative, and I’ve invited my online quilters’ guild friends to visit and then go make patches of their own. –== Diane in Alberta, Canada ==–

    Like

Leave a comment