Quilts Matter!

December 31, 2012 at 6:55 pm 121 comments

WhyQuiltsMatter_DVD_setThis is my first  “Do-it-Yourself” blog.

I’m not lazy, I just think your comments are going to be more important than mine. So, here’s your assignment. Click the COMMENTS link below (blue) and tell me (and everyone else)  in 50 words or less why quilts matter. Why do you make them?  Why are they important?  Pick any perspective you care to expound on: personal, historical, emotional. One comment per person.

At noon (eastern time) on January 5th I’m going to pick the best answers, put them in a hat, and from those pick one winner. The winner will receive  a copy of  “Why Quilts Matter: Politics, Art & History,”  a nine-part documentary produced by The Kentucky Quilt Project.

Cool, huh?

If you get this blog delivered to your email address, do not hit reply! Scroll down and click the word COMMENTS.

Keep in mind that I have to approve the comments before they appear below and I might be vacuuming or something and may not hear your comment appear.

If you’re afraid you won’t win, you can purchase DVDs individually or through your guild.  Check out the “Why Quilts Matter” blog too! They post every Monday.

OK, ready……set………COMMENT!

Entry filed under: Quilting.

My One-Day “International” Vacation On Hands and Knees

121 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana  |  December 31, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    A friend said: “You quilt, right?” I replied: That’s like saying “I cook”— meaning anything from a boiled hot dog to a gourmet meal. The beauty of quilting is like that…room for everyone from the novice making a 9 patch to the artist creating a museum piece..The result could be a cozy blanket or a beautiful work of art.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  December 31, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    I quilt because I love to — and quilts are made with love, and love keeps you warm. Simple theory – it’s been mine for 25+ years.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Colleen  |  December 31, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Quilts matter because they are an expression of our love – for family, for friends, and, in times of crisis, for those we don’t even know – but still care about.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Marie Kleikamp Kudej  |  December 31, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Quilts are important to me because they show me a person, what they think, what is important to them, color, patterns of color, comfort. To me it all starts with color: color lights up our life. To look at colors that calm and defuse, or explode and cause rejoicing is what it is about. To admire the quilt is to admire the colors. I love color. I love being able to put colors together in a quilt to make a person feel warm, safe, happy, joyful, peaceful, silly, elegant . . . .

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. cathy  |  December 31, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Quilting allows me to express myself creatively.
    Additionally, it is my hope that when the recipient wraps themselves up in a quilt I made with my hands, that they will feel my love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Robyn Williams  |  December 31, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Quilts matter to me because they are my way of expressing myself. If I try something that turns out bad, I can just start over, If good,. I have another picture for a wall. Quilts also remind me of my childhood. Great-grandma had a square, knotted men’s suit wool quilt that was always on the bed when it god cold, it kept us warm all winter. She also had one which I now know was orange peel in navy with the peels in patchwork squares. I feel very proud to carry on the tradition.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Terri Drake  |  December 31, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Quilts are a way of helping people heal either emotional or physical traumas. They are a way of preserving a family history and a way of passing down a family tradition. When all else fails — QUILT!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Judy S.  |  December 31, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I don’t quilt, but I do appreciate the work that goes into making one. Selecting the right fabric, right color, the design and the time that it takes to make one. I have had several given to me. One was from my cousin (now passed on) after having reached the age of 102. She continued to quilt, the stitches not quite so perfect then, but determination to continue. I love that quilt. It is a part of her. Not machine made, hand made, heart made. It’s history! It’s family. Yes, I love quilting and the quilters too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. gsquilter1  |  December 31, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I remember sleeping under quilts as a child. The comfort you feel.Then my grandma, showed me how to make one.They matter, because it’s an expression of a person’s heart, your soul, your feelings.You give to others, to share the love, in your heart, to comfort, a child, a neighbor, someone who lost their home in Japan, New Orleans, a family who lost their son, or daughter.To bring warmth and smiles, to others, is a good thing for a quilter. Hugs come with every Quilt…

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Gram in Texas  |  December 31, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    Quilts are comfort!
    What could be more comforting than going to sleep at night under a quilt?
    Making them soothes and comforts my soul, making them for my family shows my love and I hope comforts them, sending the little ones to AAQI comforts my fears of getting Alzheimer’s.
    Yes, quilts are comfort!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Sue Leenders  |  December 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I am an only child, who’s parents and grandparents are all long gone. I have a quilt of one grandmother, a set of blocks from the other and a top my mother made. It feels like I still am connected to them when I look and touch the fabrics.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Rowena Rickman  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Quilts matter to me because I love making them, keeping some that make me happy, giving others away as a gift of my love or a tangible hug when I’m not there to give one in person. It’s my hope they will matter to those who receive or inherit them.

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Sue  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:55 am

    Quilts are a connection to our past; they are a way for women to express themselves while creating something useful and beautiful and that will wrap someone in loving warmth. That’s why they are important.

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. Mary Young  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:41 am

      Yes, some of my quilts are from my grandmothers and even great grandmothers connecting me to them. One of my happy memories is when one of my little grandsons actually asked for a certain quilt that I had made. :-)

      Like

      Reply
  • 15. Marianne Gadeberg  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:26 am

    For me a quilt is an expression of love and gifting a quilt is a way of showing the recipient your love in a tangible form. I would never give a personalised quilt to somebody who doesn’t mean anything to me. I am very happy to make charity quilts for courses I believe in (I do not mean quilts I feel unworthy of gifting to special people/dogs in my life but quilts I make specifically for those less fortunate than me – my unworthy quilts I cut up and use for other purposes). I never grew up with quilts but I have given quilts to my daughters – one preferred one to sleep under, the other one to hang on her wall. My dog and I felt comfort when we wrapped up under his quilt especially towards the end of his life (and I still curl up under it when I miss him and need comforting)

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. JoAnne  |  January 1, 2013 at 8:57 am

    I quilt because I love it! Quilting gives my obsessive/compulsive nature a focus. I love making charity quilts as well as quilts for the people I love. Quilting just make me happy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 17. Sharon Hughson  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:16 am

    I have a license tag holder on my car that says Quilting is MY Therapy. That is why quilts are important to me and probably anyone who quilts. It soothes my soul. 8-)

    Like

    Reply
  • 18. GC (Gramma Candi)  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Oh how I hate it when someone calls my quilt a blanket. Blankets can keep your body warm, but a quilt can warm the soul. Every bit of the love I put into my quilts transfers to the one wrapped in a quilt given from my heart..

    Like

    Reply
  • 19. Pamela B  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Quilts matter because they let the person who gets the quilt know that you care about them and that they are wrapped in love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 20. Gretchen  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:28 am

    To quilt is to connect to the spirits of countless women who came before us -women who used every available scrap of worn clothing and feed sacks to keep their families warm during harsh winters. These women were the original creators of “re-purposing” and recycling.
    To quilt is to celebrate the now moments spent eyeing the enormous diversity of colors, the pleasant feel of the fabric, the release of creative juices.
    To quilt is to leave a small mark on the future for our children, and their children – to prayerfully believe that they too will be comforted, warmed, and therefore blessed.

    Like

    Reply
  • 21. Maureen Farr  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:45 am

    quilting keeps me sane now that I have retired after 47 years of teaching kindergarten and preschool…. my machine is set up in the dining room , near the kitchen and i can put the pedal to the metal any time I need something to do. I love whiping up blocks

    Like

    Reply
  • 22. Kathy  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:49 am

    I never had a quilt until my friend showed me how to make a quillow. I was hooked! I am always in the middle of a quilt project! They mean love and warmth to me and to everyone I give one to.

    Like

    Reply
  • 23. Nancy of IN  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:50 am

    I quilt because I love it. I love to see eyes light up when they see what I have done for them. Grands are always asking for a quilt. Now on to the t-shirt quilts for son, a runner.

    Like

    Reply
  • 24. Zoë's Mimi  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:51 am

    My daughter told me that the quilt I made for her daughter makes her feel like she is wrapping the baby in my love whenever she puts her down, for a nap or for the night. We do not live close to each other, so this is why quilts matter to me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 25. debi charbonneau  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:52 am

    A quilt is a hug from someone dear.

    Like

    Reply
  • 26. Karen Mazzei  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Quilts are stitches of love. They hold our memories in their layers.

    Like

    Reply
  • 27. Meg Rogers  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Last week my niece stayed with me for a few days. One night as I covered her up I told her who made each of the quilts. The first was a quilt made for my husband Dennis by his step-mother – one of her very first. Next, was an afghan made by Den’s grandmother. Last, was a quilt I made for Dennis the first year we dated. She was covered in love. That’s why I create quilts – to share my love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 28. Denise in PA  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Quilting is who I am. It brings me a joy I can hardly explain. It colors every aspect of my life. And I have a very full life. People ask me how do you find the time. You make time for the things you love. The fact that my family, and my husband in particular, support me wholeheartedly in my passion. It makes the joy even greater. I feel sorry for those who don’t have such a passion in their life!

    Like

    Reply
  • 29. kim t  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Quilts matter because…they are made with love, they warm the heart, they keep you warm when you sleep under them, they are often given to others in need. They are part of our country’s history, they are part of our country’s future. Quilts are more than just a quilt.

    Like

    Reply
  • 30. Pat Chesley  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Quilts are history. They tell a story of America. At the same time they are future because we quiltmakers gift them to children. Quilts are love because every stitch we put into them says “I love you enough to make this for you.” The charity quilts we make tell the recipient that someone cared enough to pay it forward. I’m glad to be a quilter.

    Like

    Reply
  • 31. Janet Swift  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Quilts are a wonderful heritage. The quilts pieced by my great-grandmother, grandmother (s), mother and quilts I have made for my children and grandchildren are as different as their maker and tells a personal story of the era it was made. Pieces of my g-grandfather’s shirts and g-grandma’s dresses, even wool from a horse blanket comfort me as I curl up beneath all that family history!

    Like

    Reply
  • 32. Goog  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:04 am

    They don’t need a reason to matter. Like art, like music, like stories – they just DO matter.

    Like

    Reply
  • 33. Donna Verst  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:11 am

    I love quilts because they connect not only to the past, but to the future. My 9 yr. old granddaughter is in 4-H, and she chose sewing as her project because she knew Grandma could help. The time spent with her in sewing her first simple hand-tied pink quilt to enter into the Fair is a treasure to remember. Such joy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 34. Barbara  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Quilting is my therapy! It relaxes me. It allows me to express myself. It allows me to make things for those I love. It allows me to interact with those who share my interest. AND it has no calories :-)

    Like

    Reply
  • 35. Peggi Yacovissi  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:16 am

    Quilts matter because they are the tangible presence of our feelings, our creativity, and our love for others. When we make a quilt we meditate on life and when we give a quilt, we give of ourselves. When we nestle under a quilt we are wrapped in the warmth of love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 36. Sandi  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:17 am

    They matter to me as a link to the past weather I knew the maker or not. They give comfort and warmth. I think they are a sign of love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 37. Kathy Beguin  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:19 am

    I love bounding with the fabric, picking the pattern and constructing the quilt. Why do I love to quilt? I hope after I’m gone my quilts will continue to give my family and friends comfort and keep me in their memories

    Like

    Reply
  • 38. Connie  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Quilts matter because they preserve memories. The year my husband was diagnosed with a brain tumor, 1995, I decided to do a diary quilt that I wrote on each day. He died in the middle of the quilt and I continued to finish out the year. That quilt has become one of my most precious.

    Like

    Reply
  • 39. Fran D.  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Quilts and quilt making matter to me for lots of reasons. Mostly making them keeps me sane. It keeps me busy and engaged and satisfies my creative urges. If I didn’t have quilting, I would not be the person I am. I would be less happy and less fulfilled.

    Like

    Reply
  • 40. diancenar  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Because they are both an artistic outlet and useful. They wrap the recipient (even if it is ME!) in love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 41. SheilaPainter  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:40 am

    There’s something magical about cutting up beautiful fabric and sewing it back together. And then the resulting quilt, which can last forever, becomes a permanent legacy of love. It’s the ultimate gift….from the caring quilter, to the blessed beneficiary.

    Like

    Reply
  • 42. Barb  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Quilts matter because they are one of the few ways to relieve stress from my full time job. You can easily get lost in the process and forget the work world you just escaped from!

    Like

    Reply
  • 43. Gail McClure, Feather, Chase...the Golden team  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:44 am

    It is a way of giving to others. Gave 103 quilts to a new nursing home last year and felt a sense of that giving. Didn’t know how it affected those residents until a mention was made in an obituary in the local paper about one of the quilts by their family member. I had not seen who had received the quilts as the staff passed them out. Just makes me want to make as many as I can for others….giving!

    Like

    Reply
  • 44. Dee W.  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:45 am

    For me, it’s a tangible link from my heart to the heart of the recipient. I’m kind of picky who I give quilts too, so they know they are special to me. And I love the feel of the fabric and the look on a person’s face when to look at a quilt.

    Like

    Reply
  • 45. Marta Amundson  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:47 am

    A man’s world is full of projects and accomplishments. They do something , feel good about what they did and move on to the next thing. A woman’s world is full of “do-overs” as life undoes so much of what they accomplish. There is always a bed to make, a floor to scrub, food to cook and dishes to do. Quilting is important because you begin a quilt and finish a quilt. You can hold it in your hands and rejoice in what you have created. No one can undo your quilt…they can only bask in its beauty and warmth and be grateful that you loved them enough to set aside the time to make it.

    Like

    Reply
    • 46. Gail McClure, Feather, Chase...the Golden team  |  January 1, 2013 at 2:53 pm

      This is so true. When I owned a quilt store one of the things that I stressed was that they were in control of the design, fabric,etc. so often it was the only thing that they had control over. You stated the situation so well.

      Like

      Reply
  • 47. Mary Young  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:53 am

    Comfort, love, beauty, expression, memories, warmth, friendship, creativity; all of us love quilts and to quilt for the same reasons.

    Like

    Reply
  • 48. Ellen White  |  January 1, 2013 at 11:58 am

    I quilt because I must. There are quilts inside of me that have to get out! Some are original, others are quilts I see and want to put my personal fabric choices together, I also quilt to show love. My family all have quilts made by me and it gives me great satisfaction to make something special for each of them. I am the only sewer in my family and the quilts I make are often the only one they have.

    And let us not forget the quilts I make for the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Innitiative. This monthly committment gives me the hope that someday someone with find the cure and I had a part in the success.

    Like

    Reply
  • 49. Beth  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I quilt because it gives my mind a place to rest. As I meld into the rhythm of the needle through the cloth, I can feel a calmness come over me. In this BUSY world, it is the one time when I truly am at peace.

    Like

    Reply
  • 50. Lynda Lynch  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Quilts are history. An unspoken word of the time, the person,both giving and receiving. Old quilts tell a story of when they were made. New quilts tell of things to come. Weddings, births, war and peace. Love and loss.

    Like

    Reply
  • 51. HelenMarie Marshall  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    I make quilts because I can. I enjoy the math, the color, the texture (tactile and visual), the companionship of other quilters, learning new techniques, sharing them with others as I am able, having something in my life that (for the most part) I can control, making and giving of myself to others…..and being, and keeping others, warm under my quilts.

    Like

    Reply
  • 52. Laura Ningen  |  January 1, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    A quilt is a tangible, huggable extension of love from one person to another. A reminder that no matter how icky the day, someone loved you enough to make you a quilt.

    Like

    Reply
  • 53. Marion Mueller  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Quilts tell the story of who we are . . . what colors are our favorites . . . what patterns speak to us . . . plus, making quilts helps us through difficult life issues.

    Like

    Reply
  • 54. Becky Stains  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Quilts matter because I matter to someone amd I created that quilt for someone who matters. When I am no longer here, the recipient of the quilt will always know the he/she matters forever.

    Like

    Reply
  • 55. Gini Ewers  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    When I want to comfort someone or show them how much I love them the first thing I think of is wrapping them in a quilt. But not just any quilt – one that has the fabrics and pattern and quilt designs to highlight their uniqueness. The love comes back to me my times over.

    Like

    Reply
  • 56. Arlene Adams  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    A quilt is a tactile espression of what I feel for the person who receives it. When I am gone my children, grandchildren, friends will still have something that tells them what they meant to me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 57. Darlene Welch  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    Quilts matter because they are Love you can hold in your hands.

    Like

    Reply
  • 58. Nancy Borgeson  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    When I make a quilt for someone, I’m thinking about that person while I’m sewing. It’s a tangible expression of my love, and expresses my creativity at the same time. When they use the quilt, they are wrapped in my love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 59. Bunny Filer  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Following natural disasters, I have mailed kid quilts all over the world – individually and through various organizations. While I expect that the quilt will warm a child’s body, heart and soul, I hope my quilt matters at least as much to the mother. Your child matters! That matters to me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 60. Marcia  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    I mostly make simple and utilitarian quilts, but as I’m sewing the final stitches on a quilt, I believe that each quilt I make is a link to the future. I envision that quilt being used and cherished, then handed down to be used, and treasured by succeeding generations of friends and family. Nothing else that I do has that impact of being able to bring warmth and love to future generations. I also make quilts because I have an inexplicable need to buy fabric, but that’s probably a comment for a different question.

    Like

    Reply
  • 61. Debra Rolfe  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Quilts wrap you in love. They give me a creative outlet and let me show my love to my family and friends.

    Like

    Reply
  • 62. Lill Hathorn  |  January 1, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    Why Quilts Matter – To me, it’s the immeasureable joy of the recipient when they wrap themselves in the warmth, comfort and love of a quilt selected and/or created just for them – whether it’s a family member, a dear friend, or a stranger – child, soldier, senior adult – who needs to know that someone, somewhere, cares about them and what they are experiencing.

    Like

    Reply
  • 63. Beth Baird  |  January 1, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Quilts fill many needs for me. A creative expression, a warmth
    (both physical and emotional), a joyous feeling when the color and the design flow together, a legacy for my family, a way to help others through the non-profit group I belong to – I can’t pick just one. I need to be involved with fabric and quilts!

    Like

    Reply
  • 64. Judy Faust  |  January 1, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    What better way to show you care than a quilt. It takes time to cut, stitch, and quilt. Sharing our knowledge with new quilters makes both people feel good. When the finished quilt is given to another it still keeps passing on that good warm feeling.

    Like

    Reply
  • 65. Peg Howard  |  January 1, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Quilts matter because I can not imagine my life without them-the people who have come into my life through quilts- and the warmth and love that reaches even beyond the tangible objects from generations past to future generations. The threads of life continue through the fibers of our life and the fabric it is made of- stitching us all together…….Quilts matter!

    Like

    Reply
  • 66. Lila  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Quilts matter because they allow me to put part of my heart and soul into them for those I love. When they are used each person knows that I am wrapping my heart and arms around them and wishing them love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 67. Polly Blank  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    The best reason to quilt was overheard from a guy who was not a quilter. He was in my workplace that has a quilt section and he was telling his friend that someone REALLY has to love you to take that much time to make you a quilt.

    Like

    Reply
  • 68. Sharon Mireles  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Quilting is good therapy for me. I enjoy every moment I spend at my sewing machine. Quilts connect me to the grandmother who made quilts for family and friends and who shared her desire and love of quilting with me. I, in turn, make quilts for family and friends to give them love they can wrap around themselves when they need it. I am so touched to know that even my nephews brag to people that they have quilts I’ve made for them. I know how quilts tie generations together, and think sharing love this way this is wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
  • 69. Kathleen Davies  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Quilts are the original “green” activity. We use little pieces of fabric from other projects to make bigger, beautiful quilts, which keep us happy and warm and creative.

    Like

    Reply
  • 70. Joyce Barham  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Quilting gives me a focus after physical and emotional crisis. I also have anxiety, so the quietness and calm I feel when I’m quilting has helped immensely the past few years. I wish my family were more involved in quilting, but they aren’t and so I just keep going and making more quilts for me. Being creative helps me every day.

    Joyce Barham

    Like

    Reply
  • 71. Phyllis Y  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Quilts matter because they tell a story in a medium more powerful than words. Into them we pour our joy, our grief, and our love, and from them we receive warmth and protection. They give us an avenue along which to drive our passions and beliefs and on which to bring home understanding and empathy. Quilts say “I love you,” “I’m so sorry for your loss,” “I care about you,” “I’m celebrating with you,” and “I miss you so, so much.” In times of disaster they often are the seed of a new beginning. They speak to our hearts, offering comfort. They feed our imagination and keep our minds sharp as we work out patterns, colors, and designs. Powerfully compelling, they give us a healthy alternative to other addictions. They can open a dialogue between strangers and can be an offering of peace and friendship. They can say, “Our cultures, politics, or ideologies might be different, but in essence WE are the same.” They can be a force to ground us in the moment or a way to release our thoughts to wander. Quilts bring us back to ourselves. Quilts bring us home.

    Like

    Reply
  • 72. Amy Lauderdale  |  January 1, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Quilting is a lasting bond with my mother, grandmother, and aunts. When I’m upset, I wrap up with a quilt made by one of them. Quilts matter to me for their beauty and comfort, for the creativity involved, but mostly for the enduring family legacy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 73. Rosemary  |  January 1, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Hannah, my granddaughter, is the recipient of many quilts, started quilting with my help when she was 18months old. When she was two and feeling ill, she’d tell her mother, “I need Blaa Blaa (her favourite toy) and a quilt. With these necessities in life she felt a lot better.

    Like

    Reply
  • 74. Kath Hendry  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    The satisfaction of creating something both beautiful and useful is what quilting is about for me. Whether for giving or keeping for myself, I consider each quilt has a piece of me in it, offered with love. And it has brought me into contact and fellowship with a community of wonderful, generous others. Thank you Ami for all you do for this community and the AAQI.

    Like

    Reply
  • 75. Dyanna Lawson  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Quilters are the kind of people that the world needs more of. They are kind, gentle and loving individuals who feel the need to share pieces of their souls with others. They may know the recipient well or not at all….it doesn’t matter. Making quilts is their way of expressing what is in their hearts.

    Like

    Reply
  • 76. Nita Marsyla  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I quilt because I don’t know what else to do with my (at least) 2 lifetime’s stash. My addiction never seems to wane, so I think I may be stretching it to at least 2-1/2 lifetime’s worth. My daughter will have yards and yards and yards of stash to wallow in when I’m gone.

    Like

    Reply
  • 77. Gail Reese  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    Quilts matter. They are comfort when you are cold, a “friend” to hug close. Any toddler knows this. They hold even the tiniest piece of their blankie in their tiny hand with a death grip. It grounds us to others who we love and care for. Yes, my quilts matter – they are a “love sandwich” that can be wrapped around one’s soul.

    Like

    Reply
  • 78. Marilyn Mennenga  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    It soothes my soul and lowers my blood pressure. It gives the dog a place to lay (on my feet) and give my hubby something to do with his money.

    Like

    Reply
  • 79. Nita Marsyla  |  January 1, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    P.S. And I sew charity quilts because it’s fun.

    Like

    Reply
  • 80. Quiltsarah  |  January 1, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Quilts matter because they connect us to our history. I am the proud owner of a family heirloom quilt made by my great, great, great grandmother in the 1880s. I have fond memories of my grandmother sitting with the church ladies and working on quilts. She took scraps of fabric and transformed them into beautiful quilts that kept us warm in our beds on those cold winter nights. When I make a quilt I honor and affirm a long family line of quilters; I reach forward in time to touch a future great, great, great granddaughter through the quilt’s warm embrace.

    Like

    Reply
  • 81. Ellen Snowdon  |  January 1, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    Quilts matter not just to those who make them, but to those who receive them. There is a prayer that goes “for it is in giving, that we receive”. I think that captures the reason for making one to present to another. Quilts are tangible signs of love and comfort.

    Like

    Reply
  • 82. Mary Pacey  |  January 1, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    I quilt because it is the “art” form expression that I can do. I can’t draw (even with a ruler on lined paper!), can’t compose music, or do any other artsy/creative stuff. I don’t count my cross stitch as art as I’m repeating someone else’s design and color choice. Quilting allows me to be the master of all—color,design and execution. If I want to tweak a pattern, I’m allowed. Quilting is an individualistic expression of my feelings for a particular person, design, or charity project. Some fabrics just seem to speak to me! My quilts are always received as a special gift no matter the one who receives it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 83. Pat  |  January 1, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Here’s my final answer. It’s my grandmother, mother, aunt, sisters, bee, guild, co-workers & those I’ve made a quilt for (even teachers like Ami Sims!). Without memories of laughing, crying, traveling, playing, shopping, learning and eating chocolate, together, They would just be fabric pieces sewn together.

    Like

    Reply
  • 84. Mary S  |  January 1, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    Quilts are an emotional connection to the future. They give hope that the love we quilt into them will warm future generations of those we love. Also it is fun to create and connect to others that love quilts as well.

    Like

    Reply
  • 85. Melissa J.  |  January 1, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    For me quilts matter because it is a creative undertaking that leaves something tangible behind. While I enjoy cooking, gardening and arranging flowers – these are all temporal for the most part. I also cannot draw or paint, and a mild vision issue means my photographs never have the depth I intend. But with fabric I can create colorful designs that express how I feel or what is happening at that moment and they will last for years. Giving my family and loved ones not only something lovely to look at, but a physical object they can wrap around them when I am not there to offer comfort when they feel sick or stressed.

    Like

    Reply
  • 86. Allison C Bayer  |  January 1, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Quilts matter because we matter. They are an expression of what is going on in our lives. They document beginnings, endings and all the milestones between. They are our legacy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 87. Laura Williams  |  January 1, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Quilting ties me to my family. I never new my great grandmother and I can only remember as a child helping my grandmother ( g-gr-ma’s DIL) cut the pieces and going to an occasional sewing bee with her. Now that I quilt, I can connect through quilting with them. I can imagine their thoughts as they picked out materials and designs as I design my own quilts and pick out the materials for them.

    Like

    Reply
  • 88. Juanita  |  January 1, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    I quilt because I want to give loved ones something warm and comforting. I hope my quilts will be long-lasting and get passed on to others… that a part of me will be around even after I’m gone. That matters to me and that’s why I label my quilts.

    Like

    Reply
  • 89. Kate  |  January 1, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    I quilt as a way of building something beautiful and lasting. I don’t come from a line of women who sewed, so I am enjoying finding my own way to express myself, while creating beautiful things I can give away.

    Like

    Reply
  • 90. mary numme  |  January 1, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    quilts are an outpouring of love, usually one-of-a-kind, original art. :)

    Like

    Reply
  • 91. Pam Nourse  |  January 1, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Quilts matter because they provide tangible links to the past; offer comfort, warmth, beauty, and love in the present; and last as cherished heirlooms that will be treasured in the future. Very often the same quilt will fulfill all three of these roles. Few other objects can claim so much.

    Like

    Reply
  • 92. Sallie Townsend-Hughes  |  January 1, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Quilts matter because they are a treat for the eyes,they are made with our hands and hearts ,and they send love and warmth out into the world.
    To make a quilt is to join all of our foremothers for centuries who made life easier for their families. It is my special connection to women.

    Like

    Reply
  • 93. Karen Alexander  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Quilts matter for many reasons, for me, quilts are my creative outlet. They are a productive time making something for someone I love, or something to give to someone I know, or even someone I don’t. Occassionally, the quilt is just for me! The feeling of pleasure I get from the process and the giving (or the using!) just can’t be beat. So, call me selfish, but quilts matter to me because they make me feel GREAT!

    Like

    Reply
  • 94. JoAn GODFREY  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    i quilt because i MUST be creative in some way. i have done painting in oils on canvas, tin and boards. i have painted in acrylics on boards and plaster. i have done decoupage, quilling, corn husk dolls and wheat weaving. i FINALLY found my medium in fabric. back to the beginning!!! i made most of my clothes including my wedding dress until patterns and fabric got so expensive.
    i am at least a 4th generation quilter!!! my grandmother’s first word was “calico.” i just wish i had found it sooner and could have quilted with my mother and grandmother!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 95. JeanneS. Tanner  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    When I was about the age of 16, my neighborhood friend was a boy in the neighborhood. Visiting his Mother, she showed me his rompers she had saved and was making a Double Wedding Ring quilt for his future. I was in awe. We had only wool blankets in my family, and no one quilted.
    I thought how fugal and I was hooked. In my younger days, you would pay to check your weight and get a fortune from the machine. Mine read, “you are overly frugal.” Maybe that is why I fell in love with using fabric in other ways to create beautiful and needed warmth.

    Like

    Reply
  • 96. Carolyn Ellisor  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    Quilts mean a lot to me, because when my mom was dying of cancer, I told her I would finish quilts she had started. That was over 20 yrs. ago, and I have made many quilts since then. I am so grateful for that opportunity, as it has been very fulfilling for me. I show my love through quilts to my friends and family.

    Like

    Reply
  • 97. wendy dixon  |  January 2, 2013 at 1:31 am

    Quilts matter: as a heritage to my family and close friends; to give comfort when sleeping beneath them; creating them uplifts my soul; giving them away helps charities such as AAQI (also uplifts my soul); as a bridge of friendship; new techniques stimulate the brain; gives worldwide connections.

    Like

    Reply
  • 98. vicki  |  January 2, 2013 at 6:59 am

    a quilt tells the person receiving it that someone cares and spent time thinking about them while making it. It is something they can hold and see; proof positive that they are special.

    Like

    Reply
  • 99. Shasta  |  January 2, 2013 at 10:16 am

    To me a quilt is a labor of love. Sure I could go to the store and buy the first thing I see and give that as a gift, but with a quilt, I take the time to consider the person’s tastes and choose fabric and a pattern that goes with them. I then lovingly put myself into the quilt by adapting the pattern, and taking the time to make the quilt to the best of my current ability. The whole time I am making the quilt, I am thinking of the recipient. The quilt is infused with these loving thoughts. Quilts feel like they have more life in them than comforters, because they do.

    Like

    Reply
  • 100. Susie  |  January 2, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Quilts matter to me because it is a way for me to connect to my past, present and future– my ancestors and my descendants and my contemporaries. I own some quilts from my great-grandmother and my grandmother and wonder who they were and what their lives were like when I handle their quilts. I collaborate and interact with an amazing group of quilters and I make quilts for my children and grandchildren and great grandchildren.

    Like

    Reply
  • 101. Faith Hepler  |  January 2, 2013 at 11:06 am

    All Quilts are history. Not national or regional or local, they are history of “A” quilter. One may see colors, others may see the pattern some not appreciiate anything. But to the quilter it is a piece of herself, to remain in her families history.

    Like

    Reply
  • 102. Donna Whittle  |  January 2, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Quilts matter to me because of what one can see in them: the love that went into the stitches, the warmth that comes when one wraps up in one, the beauty in the pattern, and most importantly the pleasure that comes when making a quilt for oneself or others.

    Like

    Reply
  • 103. Eleanor Levie  |  January 2, 2013 at 11:53 am

    Quilts are a matter of living expressively. Creating one is to be immersed in visual and tactile splendor. Finishing one is a feat of supreme satisfaction. Sharing one is an extraordinary way to say “I am here” and “I care.”

    Like

    Reply
  • 104. Leigh Helvie  |  January 2, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    I love that making quilts means taking bits and pieces and making a whole — a warm, wonderful work of art that is universally loved for its beauty and usefulness!

    Like

    Reply
  • 105. Vicki Craig  |  January 2, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Quilts matter because they are the one thing everyone wants to inherit. Quilts are a connection to the past and the person who made them, even if you never got to meet that person.

    Like

    Reply
  • 106. Loretta  |  January 2, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Quilts matter ~ rather, quilting matters to me because I can get lost ~ so totally immersed in any step of the process (from auditioning fabrics to binding) when I’m waiting for MRI test results about my brain tumor, that I forget to worry about it for a while.
    **You don’t have to post this, Ami. Just put my name in the hat :)

    Like

    Reply
  • 107. Lori Flanders  |  January 2, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Quilts matter – it’s giving someone a piece of your heart, Doesn’t matter if you make them for a loved one or for a good cause. It’s all love. What else gives you a warm, fuzzy feeling and is so fun to create?

    Like

    Reply
  • 108. Karen Scribner  |  January 2, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    I quilt because quilts are real AND abstract. A quilt can keep things warm (people or a casserole going to a party) and it can make people feel good with the design and color created by the quiltmaker.

    Like

    Reply
  • 109. Rosemary  |  January 2, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    Quilts and quilting are therapy – both for the giver and the receiver. They are a connection like no other. They are timeless. They are beauty. They are love.

    Like

    Reply
  • 110. Jeannette Iacono  |  January 2, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    My dearest friend and quilting mentor of many years passed on. She made a “anniversary” quilt for me and my husband. It has been on my bed for close to 15 years now ….not a day passes that we don’t think of our Vera, picture her lovely smiling face and fiesty ways.
    She inspired me and so many of my friends ..she introduced us into the world of quilting ….though many years our senior she patiently and loveingly nurtured us!!!! We all treasure her memory as well as her stash lol. We always tell each other how when we use or run across her fabrics we stop and pet them. lol
    Only a quilter would understand all that I’ve written.
    I just hope with all my heart what we create for others will have the same affect on them one day as these precious quilts have for us.

    Like

    Reply
  • 111. Nancy O'Keefe  |  January 3, 2013 at 6:01 am

    On a personal note, quilts matter to me as they are my way to be remembered. Through the creative process,I put a little piece of myself into each and every one that I sew. Since my husband and I were not able to have children, our DNA stops with us. But my quilts will live on after I am gone. So, the quilts that I lovingly make, are MY children!

    Like

    Reply
  • 112. Ila  |  January 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Most of my quilts are given away. Quilting lets me tell someone that they are cared about…whether I know them or not. It’s a way to make a connection with another person. And, for as long as that quilt, or its memory lasts – I am not forgotten.

    Like

    Reply
  • 113. Jennifer Houck  |  January 5, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    Quilts matter because they spark so many emotions. I have a special quilt that I made from my Dad’s clothing. Just touching the fabrics evokes memories for everyone and when snuggled beneith one I can sometimes feel my father’s warm arms wrapped around me once again.

    Like

    Reply
  • 114. Nancy Eckert  |  January 5, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    Quilts are my mother’s hands working through the quiet times, the soft sorting of colors, the passionate perusal of patterns, the animation in her eyes when she spoke of her “hobby”. Quilting brings her back to me and I feel her arms wrap around me and she murmurs and I am safe.

    Like

    Reply
  • 115. Dianne M  |  January 5, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    I quilt because I want to share a little piece of my love with people that really need it. I love to turn in quilts to Hospice and to the classmates that have cancer or serious illness. It just warms my soul as it warms them. There comes a time that you, your family and friends all have a quilt or many and it is just time to share with other less fortunate. Our guild started a program at our Hospital making baby blankets for the teen mothers. If they complete all of their prenatal visits and parenting classes and 2 postnatal class then they get to choose a quilt for their baby. In the 4 yrs we have been supplying these quilts we have had no deaths and have had healthy babies. What a blessing to all of us that give quilts. It has been a busy year. Our guild has supplied 270 baby quilts. It gives me great joy knowing that our quilts represent a wonderful cause. Not to mention it keeps my Math skills sharp.

    Like

    Reply
  • 116. Suzanne Cosmo  |  January 7, 2013 at 4:40 am

    1983…..I wanted to buy a quilt because I wanted my house to look warm, cozy, and charming… I could not find one I could afford, so I made my own. It was a tad bit hard, I had no instruction or help…. and I loved making it. At first I did not give any away…. stingy me…. but when I did, it was the best feeling ever. The fabric, the designing, the hand quilting,and the pure joy of creating and sharing with others is what makes my world work.

    Like

    Reply
  • 117. Ginger Hale  |  January 7, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    My quilts will be a “piece of Mom” for my children someday. It might comfort them to know that I put so much of myself into those quilts that keep them warm. I doubt they would be compelled to keep a fine blazer that I made, but they will keep a smart looking quilt and think of me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 118. nancy fowler  |  January 8, 2013 at 10:20 am

    These comments are wonderful. I quilt because I must. Sewing and quilting keep my mind active, which is great therapy for me–besides, after doing it for about 60 years, sewing is as necessary as breathing to keep me alive. Thank you, God for good eyes and hands.

    Like

    Reply
  • 119. Velia Gutierrez Lauerman  |  January 8, 2013 at 11:09 am

    The more read about QUILTS past, present, and future, the More important for Historical value to All. Like a masterpiece painting, diary, storybook or any writing We fill our thoughts with warmth through piecework. How wonderful that we can enjoy the vast individual expressions at any level. I have to Thank my family, beginning with GrandMa, for interest in SEWING. Even if you stop at quilt tops and designs QUILTING the FabricSandwich will make You a QUILTER. The running stitch doesn’t need to be perfect. Look at Picasso who tried to draw like a Child all His life. Making a Quilt uses your Heart and Soul forever and completes a need. VeliaLauerman, Hudson, Michigan USA

    Like

    Reply
  • 120. LindaK  |  January 9, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    I know this is late and it’s not in the running, I was busy attending to my Mom’s final hours – but I just have to tell you why quilts matter. My Mom died at 9:35 p.m. on 1-1-13 after a fierce 5 year battle with kidney cancer. She was 77 years old and my quilting buddy, my fellow fabric shopaholic, and my rock. Quilts matter because the one that was wrapped around her in her final days was made with love. The quilt was presented to Mom & Dad on their 50th wedding anniversary. I spent almost a year working on it. It depicted their entire lives, from their childhood pictures, throughout their lives down to our grandchildren (their great-grands). This quilt comforted her in her final moments and was hung near her casket. The quilt matters because it represents a life well lived. I know I’m way over the 50 words, but I needed to tell you why quilts matter.

    Like

    Reply
    • 121. Ami Simms  |  January 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

      And matter they do. Thank you for sharing your thoughts so eloquently. I am so sorry for your loss.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back To
AmiSimms.com

Get my Free Newsletter!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,400 other followers

Categories

I’m a TWIT on Twitter

Links

Quilting Bloggers Logo

Look Who Stopped By

free counters

