Rent Time on a Longarm

February 1, 2011 at 4:30 am 5 comments

My cousin Niki finished her quilt top back in 2007 and she did a great job. It took us more than three years to find the time to get her top quilted. That’s because we live halfway across the country from each  other. I’m in Michigan; Niki is in Florida.

On Friday, the stars and planets aligned and Niki and I spent the better part of the day with Corol from Quilters’ Choice in Jupiter, Florida. She guided Niki through the process on their Gammill longarm quilting machine and THE QUILTING IS DONE!

Three cheers for Niki! She’s one of us now.

The quality of the video is somewhat better directly on YouTube for some reason:
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSNuWSq7bSI

On to the binding! Estimated completion time: 2014.

Get my blog delivered to you via email every time I write one, or read them online.
If you like me here, please “like me” on Facebook. I Tweet too.

Entry filed under: Quilting.

Quilty Earrings For Valentine’s Day Hair of the Dog

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. quiltfever  |  February 1, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Hi Ami, tell Niki her quilt looks great. I never thought about renting time on a long arm machine but what a great idea. PS: I ordered my earrings yesterday. It was hard picking just 3 pairs so I may be back!

    Three is the minimum, not the maximum. Call today so we can fit more in the box and save you shipping!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Shasta  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Better for you to go to Florida than to have her come to Michigan during the storm! Enjoy your time there.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Debby  |  February 1, 2011 at 11:10 am

    In my area I had to take a class to get certified on the longarm before I could rent it. That $150 and the one on one time with the instructor was the best money I’ve ever spent. Since then on my own I rented the machine and quilted a king-sized quilt in 4 hours instead of waiting weeks or months to get it back from someone else.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Peg Howard  |  February 1, 2011 at 11:20 am

    WAY TO GO !!!
    Maybe the binding wont take AS long..

    Yep she is one of us :)

    Glad the planets aligned for you guys.

    PEG

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Bid Drake  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Good show Niki! Inspiring video Ami!

    Niki always works the AAQI booth at the Houston International Quilt Festivao, with her wonderful BIG voice, but I had no idea that she is your cousin. Or even that she doesn’t live in Texas.

    Maybe sometime you could give us short bios about the regulars who work the booth?

    Glad you got some time in Florida and could get warm!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back To
AmiSimms.com

Get my Free Newsletter!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,401 other followers

Categories

Links

Quilting Bloggers Logo

Look Who Stopped By

free counters

