Batting

August 8, 2008 at 8:38 am 5 comments

Batting: Lots Of Choices

I recently re-did my batting samples for my hand quilting workshop. (Incidentally, if you live near Flint, Michigan I’ll be teaching “How To Improve Your Quilting Stitch” in my @Home Classroom this month.) I provide nearly 40 batts for students to stitch on as we discuss things in the quilting environment, like batting, that can be changed to work to the quilter’s advantage

There are well over 50 different quilt batts currently on the market for quilters to pick from, and the task is daunting! So many things to consider. In my half-day workshops I have my students evaluate THREE things:

1. Needle-ability. That’s how easy it is for your needle to go in and out of the quilted sandwich and make the quilting stitch. Some batts stitch like “butter.” Others don’t.

2. Loft. How flat or fluffy is the batting. While I love the look of an old-fashioned cotton batt, that’s not everyone’s cup of tea. Some like fluffy.

3. Bearding. That’s what we call the batting fibers that are trying to escape from your quilt! Bearding makes your quilt look like it needs a shave! Not a good thing. Thankfully, with batting these days, there’s not much bearding going on.

Just for fun, I’ve listed some of the major batting manufacturers and some of their products. Tell me which is your favorite. You can check more than one box AND you can leave a comment. Please check only the boxes corresponding to your FAVORITE batting, however, NOT alll the ones you have ever used. Click here to take the survey. Send this page to your friends so they can participate too.

Get my blog delivered to you via email, or read it online.

Entry filed under: Quilting.

I Spy A Cool Quilt Holding The Baby

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Have you tried bamboo batting?

    Not yet. ~~Ami

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I have sent silk & wool to be used by my long armers. (I think I started to hand quilt using one of those – not sure which now – but Silk sounds right. (Not sure the brand on either)

    I plan on using bamboo soon.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Machelle  |  August 8, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I am a hand quilter and found that a low loft is easier, but I am starting to learn to machine quilt and I am enjoying the fact that I am able to venture out and use other batts. I found that if I am wanting to have a full feather that using 2 battings is great. I use both wool and warm and natural and there is a great fullness to the feathers.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Sandy  |  August 11, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I started years ago using Warm and Natural, but have since switched to silk. To me the needle goes thru like butter.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Sharron Evans  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I have tried the bamboo batting. (50% cotton/50% bamboo).
    It works like silk…. very nice- very, very soft hand.
    LOVE IT!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back To
AmiSimms.com

Get my Free Newsletter!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,398 other followers

Categories

I’m a TWIT on Twitter

  • Mesmerizing! I could watch this workout for hours. I wonder if the apparatus could be used for anything else. fb.me/6ScFwIrxw 1 week ago

Links

Quilting Bloggers Logo

Look Who Stopped By

free counters

