I Spy A Cool Quilt

August 6, 2008 at 10:00 am 3 comments

There’s nothing more gratifying than having a student (one from a workshop or one who has read your book) email with a photo of a FINISHED quilt. When they take your idea and run with it, that’s even better.

I recently got an email from Kiersten Pasciek who took one of the patterns from one of my books, and …. well, I’ll let her tell it in her own words:

I recently made 2 quilts based on your pattern ‘Child’s Play’ from the book Picture Play Quilts. Instead of cutting the blocks to size and traditionally quilting, I chose to keep the blocks the size of your audition templates, leaving a nice 1/2″ seam allowance (I cut the blocks to 3″ and 4″). I layered each block with a same-size piece of flannel wrong sides together and sewed the pattern with all the seams to front. I then clipped the seam allowances and put the quilt through the washer and dryer to create a rag quilt. Here are my quilts. I hope they might inspire someone to try using your patterns who is in a hurry or perhaps doesn’t enjoy the quilting part of making a quilt :)

Click on the “gallery” link to see Kiersten’s quilts.  

Get my blog delivered to you via email, or read it online.

Entry filed under: Quilting.

The Forgetting Batting

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammy  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:40 am

    That is a very cute idea. I’m just making my first rag quilt with a halloween theme. When I’m finished, I’m going to make one like this. I love how fast they go together!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Melinda  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Did she put batting in between the front and the flannel?

    Do you think this would make a nice feeling quilt for a brand-new (do they come any other way?) baby? I’m wondering if the rag edges would be soft enough?

    Nope on the batting; it would shread like crazy. I’d say no on the baby too. They put everything in their mouths. Those little rags could get sucked right in. Too dangerous. ~~Ami

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Catherine Owen  |  October 3, 2008 at 12:27 am

    I agree on not making one for a baby or young one. I have used 2 layers of flannell. That makes it just warm enough for my active Grandsons!

    Quilts for little ones ARE a good idea. Just don’t put buttons on them or things that can be yanked off and eaten! ~~ Ami :)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back To
AmiSimms.com

Get my Free Newsletter!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,401 other followers

Categories

Links

Quilting Bloggers Logo

Look Who Stopped By

free counters

