Happy Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2013 at 2:45 am 18 comments

No “PhotoShopping” here. My friend Claudia Comay took this picture on a farm about two hours north of Auckland, New Zealand in 2011. She’s the main driver and photographer in the family, often making U-turns, she says, “to capture gems much to the groans of other passengers in the car. “

Claudia says, “I’ve gotten quite good and fast at these U-turns and my family now shouts ‘Where, where’ when I announce U-turn!!”

In life we sometimes think of U-turns as punishment for making a mistake, like making a wrong turn. (In quilting the equivalent is “un-sewing.”) It slows us down, and that’s bad.

Wouldn’t it be better to think of them as “do-overs?” Aren’t U-turns opportunities once lost and now found?

On this Valentine’s Day (or any day) slow down and purposely take a U-turn. Explore a missed opportunity. Life shouldn’t be a straight shot. Occasionally it’s a good thing to meander (hey another quilting term!) and backtrack a bit. See what you missed, and then move forward again.

Entry filed under: Quilting. Tags: .

What’s in that strawberry?! A Diversion With Bubble Wrap & Duct Tape

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barb  |  February 14, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Well said! Happy Valentine’s Day:)

    Reply
  • 2. Peggy  |  February 14, 2013 at 10:36 am

    A trip I take is not successful until there are at least three U-turns!

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara Keese  |  February 14, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Thanks for letting God use you to keep telling me that where I am in my life if not a bad thing…but, itstead a part of the meandering path called “life”. Blessings…and Happy Quilting ;-)….Barbara

    Reply
    • 4. Ami Simms  |  February 14, 2013 at 11:35 am

      Look for the good wherever you are. Take care..

      Reply
  • 5. Cindy C.  |  February 14, 2013 at 11:31 am

    I love the idea of a do over. That is what my life is right now. Lost my husband of almost 39 years suddenly New Year’s Eve.
    If I could just make a U-turn before he died, I’d make a few important changes and over ride the ER Doctor and have been more forceful about his care.

    Love the cow!

    Reply
    • 6. Ami Simms  |  February 14, 2013 at 11:34 am

      I am so very sorry for your loss, Cindy. I hope you find peace. I wish there were some things we could do over too….

      Reply
  • 7. Gerry  |  February 14, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Love your outlook on life, Ami. My life has been filled with “explorations”, i.e., getting lost and then getting found again, and it sometimes takes some — many! — u-turns to get where I need to be…thanks to maps, GPS and a number of good friends. Hugs!

    Reply
  • 8. Cathe Ekas  |  February 14, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too. I love your message. I need to remember that more often. The cow is wonderful.

    Reply
  • 9. wandajean1  |  February 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Couldn’t help but notice that this was posted at 2:45 AM. Ami, for doing so much for Alzheimer’s research and for making quilting, not only fun, but funny and even laughable, you deserve a peaceful night’s sleep with no doubts.

    Reply
    • 10. Ami Simms  |  February 14, 2013 at 6:10 pm

      I think we are in a different time zone. I wasn’t up THAT early! :)

      Reply
  • 11. Di  |  February 14, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    I do the same thing….u turns! Love that cow

    Reply
  • 12. Mary  |  February 14, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day,
    Claudia is my kind of woman. There are times I wished the hubby would make those U-turns. Missed many of them but survived. God uses those mistakes to strengthen us.

    Reply
  • 13. Marjory Wilkin  |  February 14, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    Great photo and great advice. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 14. Linda Fergie Ferguson  |  February 14, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    I’m also a u turn lover. My mother inlaw finds this a bit dismaying, but we’ve found some marvelous sights from WA State to Texas. Fond memories!

    Reply
  • 15. singingquilter  |  February 14, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    I love the heart on the side of the cow, myself. Oh, and what you said!!

    Reply
  • 16. Nancy Nelson  |  February 15, 2013 at 1:39 am

    What a philosopher you have become!! Thanks for sharing your above thought with all of us and hope your Valentines Day was a good one!! Nan

    Reply
  • 17. lnuge318  |  February 27, 2013 at 8:32 am

    So cute, what an eye for detail and skill in the written word

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back To
AmiSimms.com

Get my Free Newsletter!

I’m a TWIT on Twitter

Links

Quilting Bloggers Logo

Look Who Stopped By

free counters

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,604 other followers

